Home > Old Country Cooking > Success tastes like tomato sauce :)

Success tastes like tomato sauce :)

Well guys,

My lunch/dinner (Linner as I like to call it) was a complete success!

I used what I had available…

Trust me, I did not use all of that garlic :)

Here’s the recipe I used. Do what feels right for you :)

1-2 cloves of garlic

1 shallot (or a small onion – your choice)

Green Beans!

1 can diced tomatoes

1/2 cup tomato purée or sauce

2 tablespoons olive oil

Red pepper and salt to taste

I began with sweating some  garlic and shallot in the olive oil

The smell at this point was kind of beautiful.

As they began to turn a golden color I added the can of diced tomatoes

Then I added the 1/2 cup of the tomato purée, red pepper and salt. It needed about 10 minutes so….

I salted some water (Nonna always did that… it seasons the green beans?) and after it came to a boil I added these bad boys

Meanwhile the tomato sauce simmered…

I only let the green beans boil for about 4 minutes and then added them to the tomato sauce to let them finish (about 3-5 minutes on low heat)

So pretty. I could not wait to eat!

ta da! It wouldn’t be complete without a little cheese!

This was so easy! And I don’t mean to toot my own horn here, but it tasted soooooo good. If you don’t think you’re a fan of green beans, try them this way!

Old country cooking success #1 :)

  1. Matt C
    August 20, 2010 at 6:27 pm

    I would probably have used all of the garlic. :) Ok, maybe not ALL of it, but like 5-6 cloves.

    • August 20, 2010 at 6:32 pm

      Usually I would too! But for today I stopped myself ;)

  2. eatmovewrite
    August 24, 2010 at 1:02 pm

    Green beans and tomato sauce. Interesting. I’ve never done that before. Good placeholder for spag.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

