Home > Uncategorized > On being where you need to be…

On being where you need to be…

Good afternoon all!

I have had a busy few days! School, projects, and friends have gladly occupied my time. I find it so interesting that even though I am not working I still feel as busy… BUT I get more sleep, I’m in a better mood, and feel like a better student by leaps and bounds. I can’t believe I taught and did school FULL TIME for a year. If I ever try to do that again, you can slap me. I do hope to sub at the old school I worked at, as there are some great kids and adults alike I miss already! Yesterday I caught up with two of my kids who graduated in June. I had the best time catching up and tried my best to not be in teacher mode. I was helping one of them with her résumé and had to remind myself not to grade her. Haha, I kid, I kid. I knew I had to leave work because school was simply all-consuming, but when I look back, I am so grateful that I spent that time there. I don’t talk about my faith much, and I definitely think it’s a “to each his own” kind of issue, but I believe, for me, God puts you where you need to be.

After an ill-fated attempt to be in journalism school (I didn’t last long… At the end of the day I wanted to help in a different way), I ended up back in town and had almost four months to kill before going back to teaching. I got to spend those four months seeing my nonna all the time.  Whether it was divine or a simple, heartbreaking coincidence, those were four of the last five months of her life. She wasn’t alone.  We were like kids in a candy store some days, drinking coffee, being bad asses, and eating like kings every time we went out.  Today is the anniversary of her death. I am watching cooking shows and think about her. The shock fades, as does the heartbreak. I never thought I could laugh again. I never thought time would keep going without her. It does friends.

So where am I supposed to be now? Right here. Writing, learning, loving, fighting (I get that feisty stuff from my mom ;)).

Annnnyhoo, I am off to get ready for this mixed up evening. At school we have a “community meeting” … none of us know what this means. haha. Then we’re hitting up a comedy show tonight. It should be fun! Tomorrow it’s back to Cinderella, pre-ball… I’m spending the day cleaning, cooking and being all kinds of domestic. I am working on a project for the blog as well!

Love you all!

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. Alicia
    August 19, 2010 at 2:17 pm

    Your nonna would be proud of you 🙂

  2. Ms. Jaime
    August 19, 2010 at 2:19 pm

    From the way you talk about your nonna, I’m sure she would be happy with all that you have accomplished. Tonight we will let loose, laugh, and all have a great time at YOUR spot nonetheless, I’m pretty sure she would be happy about that too 🙂

  3. August 19, 2010 at 2:51 pm

    Thanks Ladies!!!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

