Home > Old Country Cooking > Old Country Cooking – Roasted Chicken and Potatoes

Old Country Cooking – Roasted Chicken and Potatoes

Hey guys!

As I’ve written about before, I love my nonna’s cooing. So I compiled a list of meals she made that make me think of her and home. Yesterday, I hightailed it to my mom’s house with a whole chicken, russet potatoes, carrots, asparagus, broccoli and zucchini. I originally planned to make this on my own, but that dang whole chicken scared me! My mom is only second to the nonna when it comes to cooking, so I knew she would be a good teacher! Nonna loved herself some olive oil; my mom goes a little lighter on the stuff, which is healthier and still delicious, but nonna’s chicken and potatoes would be GOLDEN from her use of it. Yum!

Nonna used to make chicken and potatoes in her old school, noise making, outlet burning, convection oven. The skin was crispy and the meat moist. The potatoes were firm and crusty, sprinkled with rosemary, salt and pepper. It was kind of like an anytime meal. She made it for every season.

So obviously, I didn’t want to butcher this. That’s when my mama entered the mix!

We started with potatoes and carrots. I now wish we did more carrots because they were AMAZING! Note to self: roast carrots more often!

3 potatoes and 3 carrots sprinkled with extra virgin olive oil, salt and pepper

Nonna always did her chicken and potatoes together, but my mom wanted to use a rack for the chicken, so we did them separately. Still good!

We spread them out of one of nonna’s old roasted pans! We added some paprika to the mix.  We preheated the oven to 375 degrees and let them cook for 25 minutes. Note turn those guys over! I was in charge of that, and let’s just say they were extra crispy.haha.

STILL DELICIOUS!

While those guys were cooking we prepped some zucchini, broccolini and asparagus. These were in the oven longer d we actually took them out in stages. The broccolini only took 20 minutes, while the asparagus took more like 25-30. We ended up leaving the zucchini in there to get all firmed up.

look at all that GREEN!

Olive oil, salt, pepper, garlic, red pepper

It looks like we grilled it, huh? The flavors were so good!

and then there was the chicken!

My mom took the helm on this guy. This cooked for about an hour and a half on 350-375. It literally fell off the bone after. The chicken was (is- I have sooo much chicken!) so moist. Love! We use lemon(there was half of one in the chicken and half of one’s juice on the chicken), garlic, salt, pepper, paprika and extra virgin olive oil!

woo hoo! Although I have to say, not a fan of looking at a raw chicken. I was a happy camper after it cooked!

My mom cut the chicken up for me and sent me on my way.  This was definitely a mama-helmed meal, but I helped!

And now I have meals for days!

Toodles kids!

Categories: Old Country Cooking
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

